The CSIR and UGC provide CSIR/UGC Research Fellowship to bright young men and women for training in
methods of research under expert guidance of faculty members/scientists working in University Departments/
National Laboratories and Institutions in various fields of Science & Technology.
The CSIR/UGC fellowships are tenable in Universities/IITs/Post Graduate Colleges/Govt. Research Establishments
including those of the CSIR, Academy of Scientific & Innovative Research (AcSIR), Research & Development
establishments of recognized public or private sector industrial firms and other recognized institutions. However,
CSIR reserves right to determine the place best suited to provide necessary facilities in the area of science and
technology in which the awardees are to specialize.
The CSIR/UGC Fellowship is tenable in India. Only bonafide Indian citizen residing in India are eligible for the
award of Junior Research fellowships. The program is aimed at National Science & Technology Human Resource
A certain number of JRFs are awarded each year by CSIR/UGC to those holding the required degree, with a
minimum 55% marks (50% for SC/ST candidates and PH/VH candidates [Para 3.2]), who qualify the Joint CSIRUGC Test for Junior Research Fellowship and Eligibility for Lectureship- National Eligibility Test (NET) conducted
by CSIR twice in a year.
This Test also determines the eligibility of candidates (i.e. it is eligibility criteria only) for Lectureship positions in
Indian Universities/Colleges. Those who qualify for JRF are eligible for Lectureship also, subject to fulfilling the
eligibility criteria laid down by UGC. Some aspirants besides JRF are declared eligible for Lectureship (NET)
category only, based on their performance in the test.
The award of CSIR/UGC Fellowship is for fixed tenure and does not imply any assurance or guarantee for subsequent
employment by CSIR/UGC to the beneficiary.

Author : Examsavvy Time: 18:41 Category:


  1. very useful informations and hope this sylabuses will help, please recommend books/authors also.